What is Bujinkan Ninjutsu?

Bujinkan Ninjutsu is made up of 9 schools of Japanese budo (ie skills / philosophy of warfare). Some of these schools were developed by ninja and some are associated with the samurai.

The core principle of Bujinkan is that it is possible to survive attacks from larger, stronger, more aggressive and potentially armed attacker(s) without the use of physicial strength or speed.

Traditional Samurai Armour

The schools are:

- Togakure-ryu Ninpo Taijutsu
(Ninjutsu – 34th Generation)

- Gyokko-ryu Kosshijutsu
(Specialising in the muscular system – 28th Generation)

- Koto-ryu Koppojutsu
(Specialising in the skeletal structure – 19th Generation)

- Shindenfudo-ryu Dakentaijutsu
(Specialising in natural movements – 26th Generation)

- Gyokushin-ryu Ninpo Happo Biken
(Ninjutsu – 24th Generation)

- Kukishinden-ryu Dakentaijutsu Happo Biken
(Samurai school – 28th Generation)

- Gikan-ryu Koppo Taijutsu
(Specialising in the skeletal structure – 18th Generation)

- Takagiyoshin-ryu Jutaijutsu
(Samurai style jujutsu – 17th Generation)

- Kumogakure-ryu Ninpo Happo Biken
(Ninjutsu – 14th Generation)